Beautiful Baubles for Fifth Grade

Standard

Yesterday was an early release day for my school system and all of the art teachers were brought together for a little staff development. I love getting together with my fellow art teachers! They are all such creative people and bring different things to the table. We shared lessons with each other and I’m so glad because I was kind of stuck on this lesson for fifth grade.
I found a cute picture on Pinterest and tried it out on Monday with the first class. It went okay but not near as well as I had hoped. *superhero music* Another art teacher saved the day with one of her lessons she shared. It was so pretty and covered most of the objectives that my other lesson covered but was a little different. This was what I came up with:
1. We started with some practice on some spheres and adding value.
2. Then I passed out these three circles for them to paint. We added the highlight with pencil lightly first, just to make sure we didn’t cover it up by accident.

20121107-192819.jpg

4. We are using analogous colors to paint each ornament.

20121107-193001.jpg
5. While those dry, we make the simple background. Using a black sheet of construction paper, we used oil pastels to make the pine branches.

20121108-060542.jpg

20121108-060550.jpg

20121108-060556.jpg

6. Cut out your circles and glue them on, leaving enough space to add the ornament hangers. I used a silver oil pastel to make my hangers.

20121108-060740.jpg

20121108-060748.jpg

Simple and beautiful! Thanks Rebekah!
Rebekah recently started her own blog – check it out!
Color It Like You Mean It!

Here are some of the completed projects. I told them they could add snow or whatever in the background. They turned out beautifully!

20121116-163000.jpg

20121116-163010.jpg

20121116-163016.jpg

34 responses »

    • Analogous colors are colors that are next to each other on the color wheel – for example: blue, blue violet, and violet.
      You could definitely try it with second graders – no reason not to!

      • Thank you for your reply! I’m not an art teacher, just an elementary teacher who loves finding new art projects. I’ll definitely give this a try! My students love watercolors and pastels, so I think they would love it!

      • Yes, those are both kid-friendly mediums and are easy to work with too. I think it’s fantastic that you are doing art in the regular classroom! Thanks for checking out my blog : )

      • I’m just a third grader, but I handled it well! I think this suits elementary grades perfectly!

  1. Hi! I love your art idea and am going to try it with my grade one and two students. Your post was on Deep Space Sparkle so I think that is how some of us found you! I am, also, a classroom teacher (with no art training) and every Friday is called Artful Friday. My kiddies just can’t wait to get to school to see what project we are drawing or painting or both. Thanks for all you do to inspire us to inspire kids. Our class is ‘bucket fillers’ so I hope I filled your bucket today!

    • Thanks, Kathy! You solved the mystery! 🙂 I found the post where DSS linked this lesson.
      I hope teaching it goes well for you. It has such a nice graphic pop. I’m letting 5th graders do it because we are on a time crunch for a local festival but I think younger students will do fine with it. Good luck and thanks for filling my bucket today! 🙂

  2. I teach grades 1 – 8 in a parochial school. I cannot wait to try this with my kids after Thanksgiving. Looks simple enough for my first grader and I am sure that my older kids will love it, too. Thanks so much!

  3. Wow… what a simply lovely idea. My 6 and 7 yr olds should manage this. Link from Deep Space Sparkle led me here but I’ll keep a new eye on your projects too. No art training primary teacher with art and craft hungry class who love their teacher’s Thursday afternoon lessons. Thanks for sharing x

  4. Did you use liquid paint? I’ve read to do this with a wet on wet technique and I am not sure what this means. Should I use paper specifically for water colours?
    Kathleen new to teaching art.

    • Kathleen, I’m so sorry it took me so long to respond. I am just now seeing your question. I did use a wet on wet technique. You can find a video on how to do that on YouTube, I’m sure. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Christmas Art for Kids

  6. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art ProjectsLori Labrum - pinworld

  7. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art Projects - Pin To Pins

  8. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art ProjectsTammy Duncan Fleury - healtypins

  9. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art ProjectsLori Labrum - healtypins

  10. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art Projects Lori Labrum - My Blog

  11. Pingback: tinyartroom.wordp ... - Kunst

  12. Pingback: tinyartroom.wordp ... - Kunst

  13. Pingback: DIY & Handwerk - tinyartroom.wordp ... - Wallpaper Pinme

  14. Pingback: Diy Crafts - tinyartroom.wordp... - Wallpaper Pinme

  15. Pingback: 10 Weihnachtskunstprojekte, die man gesehen haben muss - Mensfashion Blog

  16. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art Projects - Terry Brown - My Blog

  17. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art Projects - Art

  18. Pingback: tinyartroom.wordp...... - Soshiwall

  19. Hi. I’ve enjoyed doing this project with my class for a few years now. Any chance you can control what ads post? I was just getting ready to start when I noticed one of the ads on it for this year says in really large letters “Will I leak when having sex?”. Glad I noticed BEFORE I pulled it up on my board in front of my fourth graders…

    • Viviana, I looked into the ads that were appearing and this is the information I found. WordPress only advertises for themselves on the free sites so if you’re seeing something inappropriate, it may be from a virus on your computer or an extension that was (unknowingly?) installed in your internet browser. This is from the WordPress help site:

      It is possible for ads to appear in your browser that were not placed there by WordPress.com.

      These ads are sometimes caused by malware or a virus, but more often it is due to a browser extension or toolbar that you may have installed in your browser.

      If you notice the same style of ad (like a pop-up ad) when you visit other sites, we recommend you check for browser extensions or add-ins to determine which extension/add-in may be responsible for the ads.

      You may also want to run a spyware/malware check on your computer using a popular tool like Ad-Aware or Malwarebytes.

  20. Pingback: 9 Art Projects to Do With Your Kids This Christmas | Just the Seven of Us

  21. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art Projects – My CMS

  22. Hi, these are awesome and am going to try with Year 1 and 2 tomorrow. What size circles did you use and did you use A4 paper.
    Many thanks

  23. Pingback: 10 Must See Christmas Art Projects - Create-Abilities

Leave a comment