Cursive Name Bugs

Standard

Third graders will be starting to hone their cursive writing technique next week in art class. The kids are always so excited about learning to write cursive. Last year I tried a cursive writing project with them for Dia de Los Muertos. It was pretty difficult so I thought I would try something less so this time. 

After some practice with letters and their names, we will be making name bugs. A few of the kids noticed mine the couple of days and are pretty excited about getting started. 

Here is mine, step by step and I’ll be sure to share their when complete! 

   
   

Finished!

  

Here are a few of the kids’ in progress:

Collin   
Aria

 
Ciara

   
Noel

 

11 responses »

  1. Good question! How DO you get the mirror image on the other side? Also, how would you do it if there is a “y” or “j” in the name?

  2. We did a practice run on some scrap paper so we could work out the y’s and g’s and p’s and q’s. If you are using the white paper, you can fold it, hold it up to a window, and trace it that way. That’s how we did it. I have 4 windows and I can get two kids per window so we just took turns. It didn’t take long.

    • My students wrote in pencil and then traced it with a bright or dark crayon. Then they folded the paper so the name was on the inside and rubbed their name with the handle of their scissors. After all of it had printed on the other side good enough to see, they could take that same color crayon and trace over the reflection. I did it this way for years. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Third graders will be starting to hone their cursive writing technique next week... - AllDIYIdeas.comDIY Ideas

  4. good idea ..I tried doing on the glass window ..it worked…I can’t wait till Monday morning to try with my students…

  5. Pingback: Day 5 of Beginning Art Class – The Painter's Wife

  6. Pingback: 30 Fantastic Third Grade Art Projects That Teach And Inspire - BULLETINr

  7. Pingback: 30 Fantastic Third Grade Art Projects That Teach And Inspire - Country Highlights

Leave a comment