Cursive Calaveras

Standard
Cursive Calaveras

My third graders are learning to write cursive and I thought this project would be absolutely perfect to go along with their new writing skills. I found this project on The Kessler School’s Artsonia page. This is my example, step by step and I’ll be sharing my students’ as they finish!

IMG_8266.JPG

IMG_8267.JPG

IMG_8268.JPG

IMG_8269.JPG

IMG_8270.JPG

IMG_8271.JPG

IMG_8272.JPG

IMG_8273.JPG

*UPDATE*
We are finishing up our Cursive Calaveras and they look phenomenal! We decided to add the colorful border and the monarch butterflies in honor of Dia de Los Muertos.
IMG_8497.JPG

IMG_8496.JPG

IMG_8498.JPG

IMG_8495.JPG

IMG_8499.JPG

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Skeleton Is Not Just For Halloween | OH THE ART PLACES WE CAN GO

  2. Maybe this is a silly question and I am just missing something obvious, but what do you do with letters that would cross over to the “other side”? Like p, q, z, f, g, j, and y? Letters that have tails, I guess, in cursive?

      • I’ve done this project before and suggest drawing a line half an inch from the fold. The kids then write on this penciled in line rather than on the fold. This helps to create more of a “spine” and is easier for kids to cut.

Leave a comment