Caught Up in Color!

Standard

Pretty excited about this project even though it’s been around for awhile. I’ve never attempted it with any grade and I’m not sure why. Probably just not enough hours in the day or classes in the week. But this year I’m giving it a shot with first grade. It’s a fun take on what can be a Halloween project (or not) and uses lines, color, and some 3D effects with the spider. 

I’m posting my step by step pics to use when I’m going through it with my students. I’ll add more with the spider later. We used black crayons to draw the webs and tempera cakes to paint. 

Here are a few finished webs with spiders! I love how colorful they are. The kids did a great job taking their time painting. 

3 responses »

  1. Such perfect timing! I’ll start it soon for Halloween, love the “lines, colors and 3-D”. Also great follow up to my present project “Drawing bugs in a jar” (Schoolarts Mag. October ’16, “Nature”, Early Childhood project). Thank you, Michelle!

Leave a Reply

