5th Grade Patriotism

Standard

I found this lesson on The Smart Teacher Smart Exchange through Facebook. My 5th graders just started this week and they are really doing well with it. We discussed Jasper Johns and his artwork and then looked quickly at the history of the American flag.
I gave them each a half of a piece of newspaper – not newsprint but a real sheet of newspaper. They decided what flag they wanted to draw, sketched it in pencil onto the newspaper, and then traced everything with sharpie. I posted a page of patriotic pieces like the pledge of allegiance and the star spangled banner, my country tis of thee, and America, the Beautiful. They chose snippets out of these to write on their flags.
Next week, we will finish with that and then paint. I’ll be posting more pictures as we continue.

20130410-215546.jpg

20130411-035803.jpg

20130411-082310.jpg

20130416-223150.jpg

20130416-223155.jpg

20130416-223202.jpg

3 responses »

  1. Yea! That was my lesson I shared on smart teacher! I LOVE that website! I really like how you changed it…great way to save on materials. I’ll have to pin your version for future reference…we are now on a spending freeze and may not get all of our supplies for next year we ordered!

    • Oh that’s awesome! I’m so glad you saw my post! It’s a great lesson and the kids are enjoying painting on the newspaper. I even had another teacher comment on mine when she picked her class up. She said she could see that framed and hanging in her house! : )

Leave a Reply

