Snowy, Snowy Night

Standard

Third graders started work on a new project this week. We are reviewing Van Gogh and learning more about fore-, middle-, and background. For the first part of the lesson, we painted the snowy sky using brushes, bubble wrap, and snowflake stamps. We sprinkled some superfine glitter on the wet paint before we put them in the drying rack.

20121206-213428.jpg

20121206-213434.jpg

20121206-213456.jpg

20121206-213506.jpg

20121206-213527.jpg

20121206-213534.jpg

Next week we will add the middle and foreground – forests and cities… I think I’ll let them choose.
I’ll update as we continue!

Day two update:
We all added “purple mountains majesty” as our middle ground today. The kid are loving it. Glad they are not getting antsy about being finished. I know it’s only day two but sometimes they just aren’t patient… Maybe they get that from me. šŸ™‚

20121211-033536.jpg

20121211-033542.jpg

20121211-033548.jpg

20130303-064939.jpg

5 responses »

  1. These look awesome so far! Van Gogh is one of my favorites…I like the idea of doing a seasonal version of Starry Night! Did you have them use construction paper, tag board…?

  2. I liked your post, but the experience was marred by the ad for liquor on your blog. Highly inappropriate for an art blog, don’t you think? Do you receive compensation from this liquor company?Just wondering about the reason for the ad.

    • Oh wow! I didn’t know what you were talking about at first because I usually look at my site through my phone and it never shows ads on the mobile version. I don’t know why that has appeared and I certainly have not received compensation for it. I checked into it and the “about these ads” link says I can, of course, upgrade to a no ads level or its because I have added them (I have not!) So I will be working to get that fixed ASAP! Thanks for the heads up because it might have been a long time before I even realized on my own that it was there. šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

