Time to Tessellate!

Standard

This is the first time I’ve attempted to do tessellations with a group of students. I had avoided it because, though I understand how it works, it has always seemed difficult to try to explain it to to a young child. But this year I decided to search the internet and use my resources to try and find some step by step instructions. I not only found the instructions I was looking for, I also found videos, interactive tessellators, and many lesson plans. The kids, once they “got it”, loved the results – especially the ones who were able to be creative and find objects, animals, etc in their squares. I love it when they step outside their little boxes and attempt to think differently. Thinking differently = amazing art!




Leave a Reply

